Do The Evolution

If you were to take a look into my office/man cave in my home, you would probably notice three things (in no particular order):

   1) I like sports cards

   2) I like music

   3) I like beer

What you may not know is that I also enjoy combining those interests whenever possible. Sometimes I drink beer while organzing cards. Sometimes I listen to music while scanning cards. Sometimes I drink beer while listening to music. And when I’m feeling particularly spry, I’ll drink beer AND listen to music AND sort cards. Holy cow! Okay, so that sort of multi-tasking isn’t exactly wife-esque, but it still counts.

No, really.

It does.

It’s in that vein that I thought I’d try something new. Actually, to be completely honest, I have to give props to mariner1 of Emerald City Diamond Gems fame for this idea. What if I took cards and music and paired them up in blog form?!? Can you imagine the possibilities? Great Scott! So that is what I will try to do over the next however-long-it-takes-me-to-run-out-of-ideas-or-get-bored-with-the-idea months. Technically I did this a few times before (Setting Forth, Here I Go Again, and Get Off My [Card]), but I like mariner1’s idea of trying to stick with Pearl Jam songs. Some of the connections may get fuzzy, but we’ll do what we can.

To kick things off, we’re going with the first card/song pair that came to mind:

Title: Do the Evolution
Album: Yield
Correlation: This one should be pretty obvious. “Do the Evolution”…Emmitt Smith early and later. Got it? If you want more correlation, consider that Emmitt Smith also wears pants, makes plans, and those ignorant Indians (Washington Redskins?) got nothing on him.

And now for your viewing pleasure (or confusion), I present the music video for “Do the Evolution”:

Now, if only I were allowed to drink while at work…

Leave a Reply

