A Letter from the Editor

Dear Readers,

As the dawn breaks on a new year, I am going to allow myself to indulge in the cliché retrospective and prospective ideas of reminiscing on the successes and trials of 2010 and securing hope in the promises of 2011.

The year 2010 was an overall good one at First and Goal. In the ever-changing landscape that is the Internet, the very fact that I’m writing this today is a testament that the year past could have been much worse. Despite an increased work load at my day job, several projects around the house, and increased involvement in the leadership of my church, I continued to find time, scarce as it turned out to be, to write blog posts and stay active in the hobby. One of my major goals for the year was to begin reviewing every football product release. I may not have been timely in my reviews and I had to make a few skips in the calendar (which I am actively trying to fill now), but I did not give up on the venture and feel more in tune with the hobby than ever before. It was a good idea.

The transition from 2010 into 2011 has also been very encouraging. I recently took a huge step in realizing my childhood dream of owning my own card shop. As of January 1, First and Goal Sportscards is a reality. After a year of selling cards and some supplies on the side to “test the waters,” I have officially registered my business with the state and have secured a sales tax license. It may not seem like much, but it is very exciting for me. Most of my friends and family are happy for me, but don’t quite understand what I’m doing or don’t grasp the personal significance of this step. Hopefully as a fellow hobby enthusiast, you can share in this excitement with me.

As 2011 slowly rolls along, my goals for the year are simple. I have a list of very specific and measurable goals, but a rough synopsis to avoid boring you is as such:

   1. SELL MORE – Obviously I’d love to see a significant increase in my sales from this past year, but I’d also like to start selling to friends and family, including my online friends, rather than the faceless and almost nameless people who stumble upon me on eBay.

   2. EXPAND – Right now I only have football singles, a few cheap packs, and some basic supplies for sale. I am shooting to expand into basketball and/or baseball and to start selling sealed product by the end of the year.

   3. BLOG MORE – Despite the free marketing that this blog may afford my infant business, I want to get back into random posts about random cards. The last few months have been almost exclusively product reviews, HOF Spotlights, and Heisman Highlights. Obviously I want to continue all of those topics with zest, but I want to offer more. Hopefully my busy schedule will allow me to do so.

   4. GET READERS INVOLVED – I am open to ideas here. Recently First and Goal has become a site with raw facts and occasional opinion with no real interactive features. I don’t know if it will take the form of more polls, contests, or just better content, but I would love to have more of an open forum style than I currently have.

So as the confetti is swept up and the champagne glasses are washed and the last notes of “Auld Lang Syne” linger in the air, I say, “Here’s to a brand new year.” May 2011 be full of blessings, health, and happiness for you and yours.

Thanks for being a faithful reader,

Dave

4 Responses to A Letter from the Editor

  1. night owl says:

    Thanks for providing your own unique perspective.

    I’ve never had the desire to be a business owner, but I find it totally cool that you are one and are stocking/selling cards. That’s great.

    Good luck in the new year.

  2. Happy New Year bud…

  3. Tim H says:

    Awesome News! I Definitely will support ya!

  4. Play at the Plate says:

    Congrats on the business becoming a reality. I hope you have a great first year and I look forward to another year of First and Goal!

Leave a Reply

