Blogosphere Kindness, Pt. 7

Every so often, something occurs that blows my mind.

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you know that I was on vacation last week. Wife and I just celebrated our second anniversary and we returned to Maine, which was beautiful as always, albeit wet. When I returned home, there was a big stack of mail on our kitchen island (my in-laws had been checking on the place in our absence). Most of it was junk, except for the bubble mailer on top of the stack.

It was from none other than bigD of Hey, That’s Mine! fame. I quickly thought, “We didn’t have a trade in progress” and then my mind instantly leaped to the next possible solution, “Holy crap! A custom card!” I ripped into the mailer (before unloading the car or saying hi to our cat, mind you) and sure enough, there was a one of a kind masterpiece waiting for me.


2010 bigD Customs Hall of Fame Heroes

I turned the card over (which has all of the thickness and glossiness of a great insert) to see the now infamous card back. I have seen these on other blogs, but I must say, it was much cooler to have it in person.

Needless to say, this card went straight into my Emmitt box and will certainly be a unique and treasured piece of the collection. Whenever I get around to working on my Emmitt Collection website again (still haven’t figured out if I can recoup all of my data on my now disfunctional USB key), it will definitely be featured there as well.

Thanks bigD! Your custom card work is awesome!

3 Responses to Blogosphere Kindness, Pt. 7

  1. BigD says:

    Glad you liked the card man. Keep up the good work.

  2. Catch22 says:

    Man that card is sick. How did you get a hold of a card like that?

  3. CPAdave says:

    BigD makes his own custom cards just for fun, and every so often he prints them out and mails them to people who collect that player’s cards. Lucky for me, he made an Emmitt and thought of me.

    I guess it’s technically not worth anything, but it is a true 1/1 and it certainly is a priceless addition to my collection!

Leave a Reply

