Here I Go Again

No, Metal Heads, I’m not referring to Whitesnake’s power ballad. Well, okay, maybe I am, but only in a contorted pop culture reference sort of way. I think…

What I am really referring to is the fact that I once again have talked myself into starting a new collection. You are completely and utterly shocked, I can tell. I alluded to this yesterday and figured I’d eventually get around to writing a full post about it someday. Well, given my lack of any other topics I’d rather write about, and given my ridiculous excitement that always follows a new collection decision, “someday” happens to be today. Lucky you.

2008 UD Masterpieces

In jumping around the hobby world a few days ago, I was confronted with a few references to 2008 UD Masterpieces. Granted, I believe all of these confrontations were with the baseball set, but it still got me to thinking about the football side of things. Quite a while ago, I got a few free packs from DA Card World and was generally impressed, though I didn’t feel the need to build the set right then and there. I even sent the one short-printed rookie I pulled to another blogger who was looking for it. Then this past holiday shopping season, DA had boxes of Masterpieces ridiculously marked down, so I bought three boxes and chose the Masterpieces packs as my free gift to nearly get a fourth box (in essence, although obviously the per box breakdown wouldn’t hold true). Opening those boxes is when I first really fell in love with the set. I realize that all of the “paintings” may not be actual paintings, I am confused why Emmitt was not included in even the base checklist, and I am slightly annoyed that out of a rather small 110-card set, 5 of the cards were never actually issued while several athletes (Peterson, Favre, Brady, Dyson) got two cards all to themselves. But for some reason, despite these pitfalls, I like the set. I pulled the entire base set, save the short prints, and figured it would end there.

Skip forward to early this week. Those references I mentioned earlier got me to thinking how sweet it would be to have all of the framed parallel sets in one kick ass binder. I got all sorts of excited like a little school girl on the release date of the next Twilight movie (wait, wasn’t that yesterday?). That made me finally get around to putting the base set into a binder and I even created a huge spreadsheet to track my progress of all of the parallel sets (complete with automatically calculated stats). Why? Because I’m a big doofus, that’s why.

I don’t know if I’ll ever get the entire thing completed, but it will be something after which I can chase. Because I need one more thing, on top of new Emmitts, Curtis Conway (which has gone stale), and base Topps Pirates.

*SIGH*

Someday I’ll learn to complete what I’ve started before moving onto the next thing. I swear. Promise. Scout’s honor. Someday.

Oh, and just to bring this post completely full circle, here is a video for you Metal Heads out there. Hey, if I am going to have 80s hair goodness in my head the rest of the day, so should you. At the very least, I hope we can all enjoy some glimpses of the long-legged Tawny Kitaen…

2 Responses to Here I Go Again

  1. Tim Hertzog says:

    Well…the video is unacceptable because she is not beating up her former husband Chuck Finley. However despite her short comings….I’d tap the hell out of that shit!

    Secondly….The football kicker thingie magingy…we single out players like Georeg Blanda and that club/stub foot player from the saints in the 60/70’s. Basically highlighting some famous kickers and some not so famous ones (Scott Norwood). Kind of like your HOF series but we make it about all of the kickers!

  2. Tim Hertzog says:

    I got a theme park of ideas lined up regarding kickers/punters.

Leave a Reply

