Get Back on the Horse

For anyone who follows this blog, the following statement will not come as a surprise:

I have found myself in a rut.

What was shaping up to be a great run of consistent posting just died into a lull of nearly a full week with no new articles. I believe this can be attributed to several factors:

   1) I was recently slammed with several large this-needs-to-be-done-yesterday assignments at work. While not the greatest policy, I do a fair amount of writing at work as it helps me shake the creative bug and gives my mind a mental break from the constant numbers game.

   2) Just over a week ago, I opened an official eBay Store to help boost sales (free auctions just weren’t doing it for me). So since then, I have actually been busy fulfilling orders while also responding to a host of best offers from people who insist that you accept a 50% discount on everything you have listed.

   3) With the warm and sunny weather, I have been trying to spend more time outside. Sort of my version of the NFL’s Play 60 campaign.

   4) I have just been feeling generally uninspired as of late. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t had time to work on my Emmitt Smith website in a while. Maybe it’s because the excitement of checking items off the new release calendar has worn off. On a related note, it might be because now that we are a few products into the 2010 release calendar, I’m starting to realize exactly what an Upper Deck-less year is going to feel like. I’m not supporting any fiscal decisions or ethical practices they have embarked on, but damn do they make some great looking cards.

   5) I don’t have any more Heisman Highlight or HOF Spotlight features pre-written. It hasn’t been since some time during tax season I let my bank for each, which is usually at the 1-5 post level, run dry. My bad.

All of that being said, my sometimes pessimistic mind raced to the conclusion that maybe First and Goal was dead and I would never be able to write again. That’s dumb. It’s only done when I say it’s done, and that includes my normally optimistic mind. If the figurative hour glass was reaching half-empty status, I’m opting to flip it over so it’s still at least half-full. Take that, stinkin’ thinkin’.

So to help me kick this funk and get back on the horse, I decided to take a gander through my digital Emmitt Smith binder. That was much needed, even if it only last about 137 seconds. I decided I would post this card:


1999 Upper Deck Century Legends #59

I like this card. I pulled it from this box. It was a cool box. The only thing I argue with is how the hell Emmitt was only the #9 greatest contemporary football player in 1999. I might be willing to concede on Jerry Rice and Barry Sanders, but #9? Really? I disagree. I would hate to see where they would rank Emmitt if they produced a similar set today and he could only be part of the all-time part of the set. Of course between 1999 and his retirement after the 2004 season, he did shatter the all-time rushing record, so I suppose that would help his case. I would be willing to say he is top 10 material, but no one asks for my opinion.

Elitist jerks.

3 Responses to Get Back on the Horse

  1. Alex says:

    Emmy Smith in the top 10? Please, he wouldn’t even be in the top 50 🙂

  2. Tim H. says:

    I’m kind of in the same boat. I’ve been busy umpiring ball games before work and work has been dumping extra jobs on me so I don’t have the free time. Right now all the hype is Strasburg and I really don’t care too much for the hype. Perhaps maybe we should collaborate on something.

  3. CPAdave says:

    @Alex, I’m choosing to ignore that slander. 😉

    @Tim, what did you have in mind? I liked your “Punters Who Put Their Best Foot Forward” idea from my anniversary contest.

Leave a Reply

