We Have a Winner!

After much speculation, we finally have a winner in the First and Goal Birthday Bash Contest. Unlike Armando Galarraga, this precious achievement will not be stolen away by one unfortunate call. Before we get to the announcement, I’d like to take a quick moment to comment on the contest entries.

By offering five questions worth one entry each (and a possible bonus pimp entry), we had a total of 76 entries from 15 different folks. I know the five questions were a little ridiculous, so thanks for playing along. You guys either have a great sense of humor, or just really like free cards. I doubt anyone cares, but for what it’s worth, here are my answers:

1) What is your favorite post so far on First and Goal?
This is a really hard one for me, because as cliché as it may sound, I like each one. If I was forced to pick a few that stand out, I would probably go with The Topps Collection, A Look Back: 1894 Mayo, Get Off My [Card], A Christmas Classic, and Still Searching for the Wizard, all for various reasons.

2)What is one post idea you’d like to see me attempt?
I would like to say that I really liked everyone’s suggestions and there are a few I am definitely willing to try. One idea I’ve kicked around for a while is #1 Draft Picks, in which I take a look at each #1 Draft Pick from Jay Berwanger in 1936 to Sam Bradford in 2010. The series would take a Heisman Highlight feel, which is probably why I haven’t started it yet (I already have two long and ongoing series). Plus, the whole having multiple leagues boogers things up a bit. I could stick with NFL exclusively, but then that eliminates the greats that played in the AFL. Maybe someday I’ll get around to that…

3) What is your favorite Pearl Jam album?
I can’t say I’m terribly shocked no one else said this, but No Code is fantastic. Every song is quality and “Smile” became a sort of personal anthem for me in college while my now wife and I were 2-3 hours apart. Vitalogy would make a strong push if not for “Hey Foxymophandlemama, That’s Me” (I HATE that track). Pearl Jam and Backspacer have been a nice return to form for the band while obviously Ten will go down in history as one of the greatest albums of all time. In the end, it’s not quite like choosing a favorite between your children, but it’s definitely difficult for me to pick just on PJ album.

4) Would you continue to read this blog if nothing were to change?
Duh. As the lone author of First and Goal, I’m sorta required to read each post. It’s call “proofreading”. My tenth grade English teacher would be so proud…

5) What is your favorite player/team/set to collect?
If you have to ask, you haven’t done your homework. Obviously Emmitt Smith is above and beyond anything else. Next (currently) is base Topps Pirates cards. Lastly, I still like finding Curtis Conway cards, though my focus there has wained. I also had plans for a PSU football alum and UNC basketball alum collection that just never got off the ground. Oh well.

Now, without further ado, the winner of the First and Goal Birthday Bash Contest is…

[drumroll]

dogfacedgremlin!

Mr. Dogfacedgremlin is the proud owner and auther of The Real DFG and will soon be the proud new owner of a variety of Pittsburgh cards. I don’t have a lot of hockey cards to offer, so the package will be Steeler heavy, but hopefully that is acceptable.

For any conspiracy theorists out there, here is the official screenshot.

Congrats, DFG.

Thank you again to everyone who participated!

Oh, and Joe, it only took 19 randomizations for your name to come up first. In that span, you came up second about 3 or 4 times. Sorry, champ…

3 Responses to We Have a Winner!

  1. jswaykos says:

    Crap… I was hoping you’d do the drawing AFTER my bribe package arrived! One of these days…

  2. Wow!!! That’s awesome!! I don’t know about “proud owner and author” but I do love winning stuff.

    Thanks, my friend. Pittsburgh anything is quite alright with me. I liked this contest before and now I like it even more 🙂

  3. Tim H. says:

    oh cool….I won second place! LOL!!! Congrats DFG!

Leave a Reply

