What Am I Doing?

In case you have been living in a hole somewhere or are just generally oblivious to ANYTHING around you, you should already know that it is Opening Day. Well, I mean, sorta Day 2 since the Yankees and Red Sox decided to kick things off early last night (like that shady fella who throws his line in the water at 7:54am when trout season technically doesn’t open until 8:00am).

Now, you may be asking yourself why a self-proclaimed football guy would care about the first day of baseball season. Well, as much as I hate to admit it, I’m not exactly a one-sport guy anymore. When I was in college, my best buddies were always stoked about Opening Day. And why not? The sun was finally warm, bikinis started appearing in the freshmen quads, and even your worst class was only a few weeks from being over. I even made the voyage with them to Pittsburgh my junior and senior year to catch a Buccos game in late April, my first professional sporting events ever (not proud of that tidbit of info). Unfortunately, their love for baseball and the Pirates slowly rubbed off on me.

I say unfortunately, not because the Pirates are awful, but because I generally don’t do anything half-assed (except writing for First and Goal during tax season apparently). That means that I watch every game I possibly can, am elated during the wins, and miserable during the losses. And when your favorite team is losing 120/162 games, you can imagine how many losses I suffered through last year.

This year, after football was in the bags and before IRS compliance really became a day and night thought for me, I was looking ahead to the 2010 Pirates. What will this year hold? Who is going to be the young stud that makes his first MLB appearance? Which fan favorite will be the first to get traded? When would the team lose for the 82nd time of the season?

Around the same time, I was thinking about how all of these other bloggers have great general collections and are able to trade and buy at will and can always find things they need. Meanwhile, I’m sitting on a list of Emmitt Smith cards I’ll never own that continues to grow, knowing I won’t pony up the dollar to start stratching things off. That’s when it hit me: collect baseball cards! Now, before you get all excited and streak around the neighborhood, I should define that a bit (I’m an accountant; I need order and organization in my life): I am going to collect base Topps cards of Pirates only. No Astros. No Donruss. No shiny parallels or inserts (even the sweet ones from the mid 90s).

So, now that I have that out in the open, let the trades begin. I don’t have a lot of trade bait (I can tie my own trout flies, but I can’t print my own cardboard icons), but what I do have is yours. If you send me a stack of old base Topps Pirates, I’ll send you whatever you collect, assuming it falls into the worthless late 80s/early 90s ballpark. You like the Yankees? I’ve got some for you (I’m looking at you, Joe). You like Chipper Jones? I’ve got something you might want. You like Diamond Kings subset cards? I’m your man.

If you’re interested in my progress, see the “Buccos” tab above. I can’t guarantee this will always be 100% up to date, but I will do my best.

Now, send me some Pirates. Something between this:

1952 Topps #12 Monty Basgall
1952 Topps #12 Monty Basgall

And this:

2010 Topps #284 Ross Ohlendorf
2010 Topps #284 Ross Ohlendorf

Will I ever get them all? No. Will I ever get close? Probably not. Do I plan to enjoy the quest? You better, you better, you bet…

7 Responses to What Am I Doing?

  1. Right there with you my friend. I was born and raised on Pittsburgh sports. Only I tried to deny the fact that I was a Pirates fan for the last 12 years. I have finally come to grips with my disease.

  2. jswaykos says:

    Crap, I should’ve read your entire post. I immediately started streaking around my neighborhood, and when I got back inside the first thing I read was to NOT go streaking around my neighborhood. Doh!

    I am going to unload my Pirates on you now, give me some time to put some together!

  3. CPAdave says:

    Haha…I KNEW I needed to add that for you.

    Any junk you have to send me will be appreciated. I’m sure I have a stash of old Yanks I couldn’t care less about. Just remember my focus: base Topps of Buccos.

    I don’t want to get all crazy and collect more baseball than I need to…

  4. Adam says:

    The Pirates are actually my 2nd favorite team. Not only that Youkilis is my favorite player but McCutchen is my 2nd favorite even before all the rest of the Red Sox.

  5. CPAdave says:

    Yeah, I think McCutchen is going to be a stud, hopefully sooner than later. Jones is also already on a tear this year.

    I was looking through the back pages of your blog and I was wondering why a Red Sox fan and collector would be working on a Bill Virdon PC. It all makes sense now!

    Go Bucs!

  6. jswaykos says:

    I just sent a starter Pirates stack to you on Tuesday, although I missed the part about you only wanting Topps (and base). So feel free to toss/burn/rip up any that you don’t want. My junk era cards are being sent to my from my parents’ house (eventually), so I’ll pass along more of those when I get them!

  7. CPAdave says:

    Sweet.

    Don’t worry about the non base Topps. You won’t be the first who didn’t get the memo. I’ll just pack them back up with a few bricks from my garage and mark the box “postage payable upon delivery”.

Leave a Reply

