FREE CARDS!

Hmmm…So my blog’s odometer claims that I have surpassed the 10,000 hit threshold. Cool! Especially considering I started this blog without any real aspirations, and particularly since I have practically stopped all posting activities since tax season started. Granted, I realize this is not nearly as cool as when Emmitt broke the 10,000 yard mark on 11/28/1996, or even as sweet as when Mario broke the 1,000,000 hit barrier (right around the time I started First and Goal by the way), but I’m pretty stoked about it anyway.

So to help celebrate, and to give me something easy to write about, I am going to hold a contest because let’s be honest, everyone likes free stuff. So here’s how it is going to go down. You will have three ways to enter:

   1) Leave a comment on this post telling me why you enjoy (or don’t enjoy) reading First and Goal and/or what you would like to see improved/continued.

   2) Plug my contest on your own card blog and then copy the link as a comment to this post. Does this favor other bloggers? Yes. And I am totally cool with that.

   3) Buy a card from me on eBay. What? Sales are down and this is free advertising. Each card counts as a separate entry. There aren’t many on right now, but I’m hoping to add more today and tomorrow.

UPDATE: Just to be a bit more clear, you can enter in any or all of the above manners (and option 3 can be used as many times as you wish). For example, if you leave a comment on this post, plug my contest on your blog (and tell me about it here), and buy 2 cards from me on eBay, that’s four entries. If you leave 8 comments and buy 1 card, that is only 2 entries as only option 3 can be used more than once. Hopefully that makes sense. All entries will be put into random.org’s list randomizer to select a winner, so each entry has an equal chance of winning.

So there you go. We’ll say all entries must be in by 11:59pm EST Saturday February 6, 2010. I’m not sure exactly what the prize will be just yet, but I can guarantee it will include some unopened packs, some jersey cards, and maybe a few base cards to boot. Good luck to all.

Oh, and to celebrate today’s Pro Bowl, here’s an 18 year old Emmitt Smith card. Enjoy.

9 Responses to FREE CARDS!

  1. jswaykos says:

    One thing I for sure DON’T like is the fact that there’s no baseball talk. What’s up with that?

    But I definitely DO like having a “go-to” reference for my once-per-year itch for football cards. I found another bargain relic bin at my shop and have already purchased five baseball relics from it, which means it’s not much longer before I’m dipping in to the football cards.

  2. jswaykos says:

    Also, congrats on the 10K mark. I’m happy to say I’ve been a reader from the beginning.

  3. a big congrats bud… you know I love reading about the old school players from way back.

  4. Tim says:

    I’ve never been here before, and only know about it thanks to Canuck. But I love a good contest, so I’m in!

    I don’t really know what I like/dislike since I just found you. But I’ll add you to my blogroll and let you know what I like/dislike in the future!

  5. Congrats on the 10,000th hit!! I only hope to aspire to that one day. I’d be happy with 10 hits. I always enjoy reading your Back To Basics section and your box breaks have definitely helped in a few purchases. Keep it up.

    I linked to your contest over on my blog.

    http://dogfacedgremlin.blogspot.com/2010/02/free-cardsand-other-stuff.html

  6. Wax Wombat says:

    Well, this is my first time here, so… Congratulations! I’ll read from now on, now that I know you’re here.

  7. BA Benny says:

    Hey,
    I am new to the blog world and I like what I see here so far. I do mostly baseball but now know where to come for a football fix.

  8. BA Benny says:

    Hey again,
    I pluged your contest on my new blog. ,http://babennysbaseballcardbuffet.blogspot.com/2010/02/contest.html

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

