UD Finally Delivers

A little while ago, I wrote a post about the massive failure that was the 2008 Upper Deck Icons Immortal Letterman Brett Favre redemption program. At the time I wrote it, I was excited that after almost a year of waiting (and only because I had waited to buy Icons until the Christmas shopping season), I would soon be receiving my final outstanding redemption card. Last, I was taking a look around eBay and saw several of these cards listed. Suddenly, it dawned on me that I never checked my mail when I got home from work. I ran out into the dark night (I live in a very rural area and it was cloudy), opened my mailbox, and sure enough, there was a brown envelope from Carlsbad, CA (on a completely different side note, I am convinced the Upper Deck redemption envelopes contain copious amounts of asbestos in the padding). Inside was my long awaited prize, and bonus prize:

2008 UD Icons Letterman Redemption2008 UD Icons Redemption Bonus Card
Click each image for a full sized scan

Maybe it is too little, too late. Maybe the bonus card is a laughable attempt to assuage the angry public. Maybe Upper Deck just sucks at redemptions. Whatever the case, I’m just glad I finally got the card and wasn’t told “We cannot fulfill this redemption, here is a crappy card in its place”. You do have to wonder what took so long to get manu-patch letters into cards. It’s not like they were waiting for Brett to set aside time from his eternal retirement saga to hard sign the cards.

Oh, and if you check, there is now one more Favre letterman listed on eBay

Leave a Reply

