“Redemption” Should be a 4-Letter Word

Last year, in the midst of my return-to-the-hobby shopping spree, I picked up two boxes of 2008 Upper Deck Icons. It was not a bad set, although perhaps a bit over priced considering the cards I pulled. One of the highly touted inserts in 2008 Icons was the Immortal Letterman cards, featured manu-patch letters. I successfully pulled Fran Tarkenton, Walter Payton, and Barry Sanders. But wait…there were a guaranteed 2 per box, leaving me one short from my 2 boxes. Where was my other Immortal Letterman? One word: Redemption. I plugged in the code on 12/28/2008 and began the wait for my Brett Favre Immortal Letterman card.

And waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Finally, a few months ago, Upper Deck sent out an email stating they were trying to wrap up production. Those who were tired of waiting could request a replacement card of equal value. For those who wanted to wait it out, they would include a special thank you card. I opted to wait.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

Today, I happened to think about this redemption and checked “My Redemptions” on Upper Deck’s website. Status: Pending. Status Date: 12/28/2008.

Crap.

Tonight I just happened to look at Facebook before heading off to bed and saw a live feed link from Upper Deck. Lo and behold, the redemptions are finally complete and ready to be mailed! HOORAY! Below is what my Immortal Letterman will look like, but possibly with a different letter. They have two sets, one spelling “JETS” and the other spelling “BROADWAY BRETT” (again, these were from 2008 Icons). Beside that card is one of six special, limited edition Brett Favre cards created specially for those who waited it out, complete with his new Vikings uniform.


Click each card to see a larger view

These cards are set to ship this week, so hopefully I have them in-hand before next weekend. I will keep you updated with actual scans when they arrive.

BTW, I will try to not let my next post be about some new Brett Favre card Upper Deck released images of on their Facebook page. Promise.

4 Responses to “Redemption” Should be a 4-Letter Word

  1. Tim H says:

    I’m surprised there isn’t a John Madden card that comes along with da Favre card cause we all know how much madden loves his “Favre”.

  2. CPAdave says:

    Good call.

    “As a special thank you for your patience, we are also including a portion of John Madden’s left nut, which he generously donated in Favre’s honor. Here at Upper Deck, we continue to bring you as close to the game as possible, even if it is far closer than your comfort level would ever allow.”

  3. Tim H says:

    Don’t forget the redemption card for the Madden teleprompter.

  4. Zach Oswald says:

    Where can i find the brett favre upper deck vikings set? a complete set? please email me!

Leave a Reply

