Heisman Highlight: Preview

In doing research for my HOF Spotlight feature, I have discovered that I am really enjoying the whole process. I feel like I am learning a lot about some of football’s greatest players, coaches, and founders, many of whom I knew very little about prior to starting my spotlight. As I started with the charter class and am slowly working my way in order to the most recent class, I have learned much about the founding fathers of the NFL and all those often forgotten men who forever changed the landscape of professional football and helped to mold it into the sport we know and love today. I also have a far greater appreciation for the vintage football card sets because of my spotlight. Much like the players and coaches they featured, these legendary sets were trailblazers for the hobby I have loved since I was a child. Naturally I enjoy sharing these HOF Spotlights with my readers and I hope you all enjoy them, but even if I never published another one, I believe I would still continue to write them for my own enjoyment and education.

In an attempt to further broaden my horizons of football knowledge, I have decided to take on a new venture. Starting next week, I am going to begin writing a Heisman Highlight feature that, similar to the HOF Spotlight, will make a quick mention of the each winner’s career highlights (mostly focusing on their college career as the Heisman is a college award) and showcase one card of the winner, preferably his rookie card. I will be starting with the very first Heisman Trophy winner, Jay Berwanger in 1935, and will work through the list of winners through 2009’s Sam Bradford (or whoever is the most recent winner by the time I get through them all).

Stay tuned to First and Goal for this new feature. Hopefully you will enjoy reading it. I would love to hear your feedback once I have a few posted.

As always, if you have any ideas for posts or extended features you would like to see on First and Goal, just shoot me an email. I can’t promise I will be able to fulfill every request, but I will promise to seriously consider anything you guys come up with.

Thank you for your continued support of First and Goal. Without you, my faithful readers, this entire venture would be a waste of time and probably would have ended long ago.

Leave a Reply

