Contest: 100 Reasons to Celebrate

For all of you keeping score at home, you may have noticed that my two product previews this morning brought my post count to a staggering 100. Alright, I realize that some dedicated (dare I say obsessed?) bloggers write 100 different insightful and well-worded posts each month, but I simply don’t have that sort of time or attention span.

To help celebrate this modest milestone, I am looking to unload another card! I haven’t decided which one yet, but it will be of a recognizable football player and serial numbered #/100 (clever, huh?). Want to enter? Of course you do! All you have to do is leave a comment on this post telling me which of my first 100 posts was your favorite. That’s it!

Need some help? Perhaps you have been a fan of my product previews of fresh wax or my product reviews of older wax. Maybe you enjoy reading my HOF Spotlight or my new Fantasy Focus features. Or, if you are like Joe and have been here since Day 1, you may cherish my very first post.

Whichever is your favorite, just leave a comment on this post (comments left on your favorite post, while appreciated, will not be entered into the drawing) to be entered to win a mystery card #/100. Haven’t been a long-time reader? Just tell me you like this post the best because you might win something. That would make me like a post!

I am going on a mini vacation late this week into next week, so I am going to leave this open until 11:59pm on SEPTEMBER 30, 2009! That also means that you may not see your comment approved for a few days, but don’t worry, WordPress will track when you logged your comment, and it will still be entered into the drawing when I get back. Be sure to leave a comment before the deadline! Good luck to all entrants!

UPDATE: Contest is now closed. Thank you to all participants. Stay tuned for the winning announcement soon!

9 Responses to Contest: 100 Reasons to Celebrate

  1. Mark Aubrey says:

    I’ll go first. I like posts about vintage cards, especially Jim Thorpe.

    Congrats on 100 posts. May you many more than that in the coming years.

  2. wickedortega says:

    Dude…. i’m lovin this post!! I too have the same issues…. And i still have no idea what to do about it! When Collecting and Hoarding Collide

  3. congrats!

    my fave post… the Emmitt Smith Collection

    damn I miss that guy.

  4. Brian says:

    I liked the post “When Players Switch Teams” from 8/29/09. It is one thing I can’t stand when they show a player in one uni, listed with his new team, with a swatch of jersey that is obviously from the old team. Congrats on reaching your 100th post!

  5. jswaykos says:

    To be honest, I like all of your product reviews/previews. I have a passing interest in football cards, and you’re my “go to” source for anything related to them! My second favorite post will be the guest entry I’ll eventually get around to writing about the football pack shopping spree I went on a few weeks ago. I have it written in my head, just need to put it on paper! Maybe I’ll do it Sunday while watching football…crazy! I need to do it soon so I can organize them and put away my super sweet Adrian Arrington auto… or not.

    Congrats on 100 – most never make it that far! It’s not the number of posts, it’s the quality. Anyone can post 500 different entries about absolutely nothing; it’s much harder to come up with relevant content.

  6. Drew says:

    Same as jswakyos. I like the product reviews, but if I had to pick one, it would be the most recent box break, 1999 Century Legends. It’s a pretty cool set. Thanks for the contest and keep up the good work! Drew

  7. fuji says:

    I loved your post: The Topps Collection.

    It featured E. Smith and actually inspired me to go out and get every regular Topps, Donruss, and Fleer Tony Gwynn out there.

  8. Alex says:

    No doubt about it, your HOF spotlight on Don Hutson. While most modern NFL fans rightly know about Jim Thorpe and Bronco Nagurski as legends who helped define the NFL as we know it today, many of those same fans don’t know about Don Hutson and the influence he has had on the sport. As you said, if one man should be credited with inventing the modern pass receiving methodology, that man would be Don Hutson.

    His 1942 season was off the planet – in 11 games he had 74 receptions for 1211 yards and 17 touchdowns. No other receiver had even half the receptions, yards or touchdowns. Can you imagine today a receiver having more than twice the receptions, yards and touchdowns or the next best receiver in the league? On top of that he had 7 interceptions, 33 extra points and 1 field goal.

    Anyway, keep up the good work, particularly the HOF spotlight.

  9. Thomas says:

    I really like the HOF spotlight posts. A lot of them are of players that I may not have even known about.

