Did Panini buy EA Sports Too?

I should start this post with a disclaimer: I am by no means a video game expert. My most advanced gaming system is a PS2 and I think I own 6 games for it, 4 of which are from the Guitar Hero line (not including a fair number of PSOne games). I love playing video games, I just already have too many hobbies demanding time and money to really get into gaming.

That admission aside, I will say I definitely pay attention to games as they come out. Obviously as a recent college grad and a big football fan, I am quite aware of the reception Madden 10 has been receiving. According to many, the most recent installment of this now legendary series could be the best yet, which says a lot considering each year has seemed to be a big hit. I have not had a chance to play it yet, but I have noticed something interesting from the case cover:


Click image for larger size

It seems to me this whole putting player cutouts on a white background and then throwing some ink blots at them is a popular design theme this year. Just 10 days ago, I wrote a post about Panini’s lazy attempt at creating multiple products this year by seemingly recycling a similar design for 2009 Score and 2009 Leaf Rookies & Stars. Either EA Sports employs the same design team as Panini, or this style is far more popular than I could ever have imagined.

I just hope Beckett doesn’t start getting exclusive pre-release copies of future Madden releases that feature better graphics, playability, and built-in cheat codes than the average gamer could ever obtain.

I should also note that the inspiration for this post came from looking at Joe’s Football Friday Contest over at The Priceless Pursuit. There is still time to register for your chance to win a mystery football autograph, so sign up now!

Update: Joe’s contest is now closed.

One Response to Did Panini buy EA Sports Too?

  1. jswaykos says:

    We have similar interests in gaming it seems, too. I own a 360, but I’ve only got a few games for it; Tiger Woods, Madden, NCAA, and MLB 2K9, and I play them over and over. And like you, as much as I enjoy them I don’t really have all that much time left over for them! The Guitar Heroes are fun, too, but I stink at them and any level that involves a fourth note!

Leave a Reply

