Die-Cut Goodness

I have never proclaimed to be the most hip or up-to-the-times guy out there, especially in the world of card collecting. This is probably most obvious in my love for die-cut cards. Today, many collectors spend hours and a lot of money tracking down cards that feature game used relics, autographs, and/or the latest prospect to make headlines. Some wax-aholics have grown tired of this trend and have labeled the use of manufactured patches and sticker autos as horrible “gimmicks” used by the card makers to ship an extra few cases to people who still think Beckett’s “hi” value column is gospel. Some people have even gone as far to say that gimmicks have been around for years, which explains the explosion of holograms and die-cut designs in the mid-to-late 90s. Well, if die-cuts were just a gimmick to ship a few more cases, then call me a sucker because I love them.

What you see below are two of my favorite die-cut cards from my personal Emmitt Smith collection (some day I will use other players as examples, but for now, my Emmitt cards are pretty much the only ones I have scanned). The one on the left is the 1998 Fleer Ultra Touchdown Kings insert. The first time I saw this card online, I knew I wanted it. There was just something about the antique feel and all those great die-cut angles that I loved. Needless to say, I made the card my own during one online shopping spree that added several Smiths to my collection.

The card on the right is the 1998 Playoff Contenders Leather insert. I thought this was one of the coolest designs for a die-cut card because it is so simple yet effective. The card is shaped like a football and even has a leather feel to it. I’m not sure exactly what it is made of, but I’m convinced it’s not the normal card stock we have all grown to know and love.

       
Click images for full sized scans

So maybe I’m a tool for still enjoying these cards, but I’m not too concerned about that. I think part of my fascination with these cards is that it reminds me of my younger days when die-cuts were all the rage (a.k.a. gimmick) and my face lit up every time I was forunate enough to pull one from a pack. There was something special about getting a card of your favorite player(s) that didn’t look like all the others.

I know that I am not the only person out there that still loves die-cut cards. Why do YOU still enjoy your old die-cuts?

3 Responses to Die-Cut Goodness

  1. jswaykos says:

    Because they’re super rare and worth lots of money, obviously!

  2. OC says:

    Dont worry if your Emmitts are the only thing you have scanned. They are your passion in collecting and that is what blogging is about. Sharing your collecting passions. Personally mine are oddball and regional issues. Id rather add those to my Nolan Ryan collection than todays relic or auto cards. I do have a question about your Smith collection. Do you have advertisement pieces in your collection. For example a Just for Men hair color box with Emmitt on it. Having that in your collection cant be any different than a Wheaties box or a Pop Can with your favorite player.

  3. CPAdave says:

    As of right now, my Smith collection is mostly just cards. I do have the Hallmark Collectibles ornament, a Starting Lineup figurine (out of the package…¡Qué lastima!…stupid much younger version of me), and a few POG slammers (yes, I was young and dumb enough to be into POGs when they were big).

    I don’t think I have any true advertisement pieces, but once I have more space, I’m sure that will come. I would also LOVE to have a framed autographed jersey, but that is MANY years down the road…

Leave a Reply

