In The Beginning…

As a long time collector of Emmitt Smith cards, I have a host of cards that evoke much pride and joy each time I look at them. I have a handful of relics cards, all five of his official Rookie Cards, and plenty of sweet mid-90s inserts. However, one card that remains among my favorites would appear to be an outcast from the others. That card is none other than the 1991 Fleer base card #237. Complete with its ugly green border, awful gradient background and awkward player pose, there is nothing about this card that I don’t love.  Even the terribly dinged corners get to me every time.

How could I love such a “junk wax era” base card? This was the very first Emmitt Smith card I ever obtained. It reminds me of how simple everything was when I was six-years-old.  Back when football cards were nothing more than tiny mementos to show how much you liked your favorite players and teams.  Back when I would gladly trade a Magic Johnson card for a [enter name here], simply because the photographer happened to snap a shot that also included Michael Jordan (my favorite basketball player growing up).  Back before I ever knew what Beckett was or placed way too much emphasis on their trivial “book values” and “semistar” lists.  Back when it was just me, my cards, and the happiness they gave me.

When I got into high school and especially college, I got away from buying cards.  When I graduated in May 2008, it was not long before I started buying new wax with my new found income. I quickly got wrapped up in chasing high end cards and dropped way too much money on wax I had no business buying.  I took a few months off to recollect my thoughts (and pay off a little credit card debt from my shopping spree) when I realized it was time to get back to basics.  So while I still appreciate the new refractor technology and think it’s pretty cool when I pull a relic or autographed card, it is very hard for me to find true competition for this now-archaic monstrosity.

This post’s title not only refers to the card that started it all for my Emmitt Smith player collection, but also for this new blog. I don’t know exactly what will come of this new venture, but I hope that it will prove useful to some fellow collectors. I plan to share my opinions/experience with collecting, hopefully provide some product previews and reviews (including box breaks of new and old wax), and other Hobby tidbits.  As the name of the blog should imply, I plan to focus on football cards, but I reserve the right to talk about other topics as well.  At first I planned to split my time between football and basketball as I have done with my personal collection, but with Upper Deck and Topps both losing their NBA license, I really doubt I will continue to buy new basketball wax any time soon.

I hope you like what you read and that you return often.  I won’t guarantee multiple posts each day, but I will do my best to stay active.  Please leave any comments, complaints, suggestions, qualms, inquiries, etc. you may have.  Now it’s just a matter of finding out where the Yellow Brick Road will lead us…

3 Responses to In The Beginning…

  1. Joe says:

    Lots of my favorite cards of my favorite players are from the “junk wax” era, simply because I explicitly remember the days when I pulled them from packs.

    Good luck with your blog – I’ve got two going, and it’s addicting! Don’t stress about hits or visits, they’ll come with time. Enjoy it for what it is – a chance to write about whatever the hell you want to write about!

  2. Very nice. I’ve added you to my blogroll and can’t wait to see what the future holds for this blog. It’s good to see someone else who likes the older stuff.

    -John

  3. Chad says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. I look forward to reading yours as well. I collected some football from the junk era, so I have an interest in hearing what you have to say about it. I like the direction of the blog and I will certainly add you to my blogroll. Nice header image up top too!!

Leave a Reply

